Riley’s Internship

To all,

 

When I decided to come to Baylor Business grad-school, my grandmother decided she would help and support me in anyway she could because, though she did not say it, she knew that if I was exposed to opportunities and open doors, I would flourish.  Since my grandmother died earlier in the semester, I can guarantee you that when deciding what I should do this summer, she was on my mind.  

A lot of people have chimed in recently on whether I should accept one of two internship opportunities.  One has been the opportunity to work at Dish Network in the marketing division.  I am not too sure on the projects that I would be working on but I would think it would be a continuation of the digital transition work and TR50 that I have already done.  The other option is an internship with an entrepreneurial venture known as Vino del Sol (VdS).  VdS is an Argentine wine exporter who coops wineries from all over Argentina for export into the United States.  My work there would consist of marketing and guerilla marketing tactics that fit into the company’s long term strategy.  

I realize that many people stuck their necks out for me to have an opportunity to intern at Dish Network.  I appreciate all of their contributions as well.  It really shows a lot about the good nature of the Baylor faculty to help their students beyond the classroom and into the boardroom.  On the other hand, going to Argentina and starting entrepreneurial efforts has been something that I’ve talked about since mid-2006, which is well before I started my graduate studies here at Baylor.  There are so many different variables that go into making the decision on where I would want to intern and the only person who has had the closest thing to complete information is me.  Many have tried to boil the discussion down to things like money or job opportunities; but, if you know me, then you know it is actually impossible for me to boil anything down.  Although I do appreciate everyone’s free advice, it was my decision to make.

Kevin from Dish Network mentioned something to me that I haven’t thought about.  He said that not too many people get to show to corporate America that there are far more important things than GPA in determining a person’s aptitude and employment potential.  This really means a lot to me.  My cousin helped me remember, however, that corporate America also appreciates “risk-takers” and I am pretty sure that VdS is a bigger risk.  I just want to go on record saying, “It is really easy to make a decision when you don’t have to make one.”  I could always side with passion over money until given this current decision.

Taking these factors and more into deep consideration, I am accepting the internship in Argentina.  This was not an easy decision to come to but I decided I would send an email to everyone that had a hand in helping me make this decision.  For the sake of brevity, I chose not to write all the factors that contributed to me making this decision.  I really appreciate you all’s thoughtfulness and concern with my decision but in the end, I had to go with the thing I’ve been passionate about for the last two years.

 

My best regards to everyone,

 

Riley Evan Ross

MBA- International Management 2008

Leave a Reply

