I have no words…

There has been so much that has gone on in the last week I don’t know how I can sum everything up.  Okay, Walter, Janie, and my dad all showed up in Buenos Aires last Saturday.  Anyone who knows my uncle Walter knows that when he shows up for vacation, he doesn’t vacate.  Instead he turns into a nazi, not like a “mean, semite-slaughtering” nazi, more like a “you need to be ready to go in 5 minutes… no wait, 2 minutes” kind of nazi.  Tito said of Walter that he can’t enjoy what he’s doing right now because he’s thinking about what he’ll do next.  I might joke about his behavior but the truth is that it’s nice having him here because it is a huge change of pace that I enjoy.  I have much more to say about our adventures but I want to talk about Iguazu real quick.

We went to Iguazu Falls, on the border of Argentina and Brazil, and it’s amazing.  Elenor Roosevelt, upon seeing the falls, couldn’t help but proclaim “Poor Niagra”, and how right she was.  There are over 270 individual falls and there are no amount of words in my English and Spanish lexicons combined to describe the beauty, magnitude, and fury of the falls.  I couldn’t help but be overwhelmed while I was there with an existential and theological dilemma.  I have a tendency to sympathize with religious perspectives on many things like the falls being the handiwork of God and how natural beauties (like Iguazu and pale ale) are proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy.  At the same time, I have no problem espousing the idea that the earth is over 2 billion years old and these falls were formed over many millenia by erosion of the rocks and that they have grown in scale over at least a billion years.  When you think about it scientifically, it seems to make sense.  But to look at it scientifically, the falls aren’t impressive.  The idea that these falls just occurred as part of a natural process doesn’t really impress me; why am I supposed to be awe-struck by a random occurance, no matter how great?  However, to look at the falls from the middle, the idea that there is some kind of infinitely intelligent being that got this ball spinning a long time ago, and put it in a place like Argentina/Brazil, Zambia/Zimbabwe, US/Canada for people to marvel, study, hypothesize, and theorize over is much more impressive to me.  This is not a plug for intelligent design or the “answersingenesis” crowd.  I’m reminded of the words of British Scientist Sir John Houghton, “the phrase that both believers and scientists need to learn and not be afraid to say is, ‘I don’t know'”.  AmenJust a portion of Iguazu

Leave a Reply

